Causes of chronic pruritus

What can trigger pruritus?
Are there connections with other diseases?

These and many other questions were answered by Prof. Sonja Ständer, Expert for chronic prutitus on the occasion of our lecture series for patients with chronic pruritus.
Chronic itching, i.e. itching that lasts longer than 6 weeks, is one of the most common and most distressing skin symptoms worldwide. Approximately 13 - 17 % of the world's adult population suffer from chronic pruritus - and the trend is rising. Up to 25 % of the population suffer from this chronic condition once in their lifetime.

Chronic pruritus, i.e. itching that lasts longer than 6 weeks, is one of the most common and distressing skin symptoms worldwide. Approximately 13 - 17 % of the world's adult population suffer from chronic pruritus - and the trend is rising. Up to 25 % of the population suffer from this chronic condition once in their lifetime, but only 36% of those affected present to a dermatology practice. Chronic pruritus is a disease whose research is still in its infancy; the search for causes is extensive and involves many factors. Dry skin, especially at an advanced age, or the use of medication can promote itching. However, itching can also be triggered by many diseases: Skin diseases, diseases of the internal organs, diseases of the nerves, mental illnesses or several existing diseases. Sometimes the cause is also unclear.

The consequence of itching is inevitable: we scratch - scratching is difficult to suppress.
Scratching leads to skin injuries and scarring, and in extreme cases, chronic prurigo can develop, which is accompanied by persistent lump formation on the skin. And it does not stop there - those affected suffer greatly due to the intensity of the itching, sleep is disturbed and skin changes are visible. All this reduces the quality of life.

Pruritus occurs at any age, has different causes at any age, but is stressful for those affected at any age. Whether in children, pregnant women or the elderly, the causes are varied and require an intensive assessment of all individual influencing factors, existing illnesses, medication, etc.

Current treatment recommendations are increasingly based on evidence from patient studies. Experts and specialist societies have developed a guideline that defines important milestones for the precise assessment, diagnosis and treatment: From the definition of the disease to the determination of anamnesis questions, basic laboratory chemical and instrumental examinations to a general course of therapy and symptomatic step therapy. You can find the guideline here:

https://register.awmf.org/de/leitlinien/detail/013-048

Here, both sufferers and dermatologists can find out about the diagnosis and treatment options for chronic pruritus.

Many thanks to Prof. Sonja Ständer for the valuable information and the time you took and a big thank you to all participants for your keen interest and questions.
We look forward to the next lecture on February 6, 2024 on the topic of "Relaxation techniques and mindfulness for chronic pruritus: What is important to know?" - For the sake of your skin ❤️

Further reports
Relaxation techniques and mindfulness for chronic pruritus
06.02.2024

How do I integrate relaxation and mindfulness into my everyday life with...

SkinHealthCampus on site
15.01.2024

Last week we once again had two campaigns on site on the topic of "H...

Rehabilitation for permanent itching
11.12.2023

What can those affected in a rehab clinic learn about dealing with pr...

Ursachen von chronischem Pruritus

Wodurch kann Pruritus ausgelöst werden?
Gibt es Zusammenhänge mit anderen Erkrankungen?

Diese und viele weitere Fragen hat Frau Prof. Sonja Ständer, Expertin für chronischen Pruritus anlässlich unserer Vortragsreihe für Betroffene mit chronischem Pruritus beantwortet.
Chronisches Juckempfinden, also Juckreiz, der länger als 6 Wochen anhält, gilt als eines der häufigsten und am stärksten belastende Haut-Symptome weltweit. Ca. 13 – 17 % der erwachsenen Weltbevölkerung leiden unter chronischem Pruritus – Tendenz steigend. Bis zu 25 % der Bevölkerung erleiden einmal im Leben diese chronischen Erkrankung.

Chronischer Pruritus ist eine Erkrankung, deren Erforschung noch in den Kinderschuhen steckt; die Ursachensuche ist umfangreich und bezieht viele Faktoren mit ein. Trockene Haut, gerade in fortgeschrittenem Alter oder Medikamenteneinnahme kann Jucken begünstigen. Jucken kann aber auch durch viele andere Erkrankungen ausgelöst werden: Hauterkrankungen, Erkrankungen der inneren Organe, Erkrankung der Nerven, psychische Erkrankungen oder durch mehrere gleichzeitig besehende Erkrankungen. Manchmal ist die Ursache aber auch unklar.

Die Folge des Juckreizes ist unvermeidlich: wir kratzen – Kratzen lässt sich schwer unterdrücken.
Das Kratzen führt zu Hautverletzungen und Narbenbildung, im Extremfall kann sich eine chronische Prurigo entwickeln, die mit hartnäckiger Knotenbildung der Haut einhergeht. Und dabei bleibt es nicht – Betroffene haben einen hohen Leidensdruck aufgrund der Intensität des Juckens, der Nachschlaf ist gestört, Hautveränderungen sind sichtbar. Dies alles mindert die Lebensqualität.

Pruritus tritt in jedem Alter auf, hat in jedem Alter unterschiedliche Ursachen, ist aber in jedem Alter belastend für die Betroffenen. Ob bei Kindern, Schwangeren oder im Alter, die Ursachen sind vielfältig und bedürfen einer intensiven Erhebung aller individuellen Einflussfaktoren, bestehenden Erkrankungen, Medikation usw.

Aktuelle Therapieempfehlungen werden zunehmend durch Nachweise aus Patientenstudien gewonnen. Zur genauen Erhebung, Diagnostizierung und Therapie haben Experten und Fachgesellschaften eine Leitlinie entwickelt, die wichtige Meilensteine festlegt: Von der Definition der Erkrankung über Festlegung der Anamnesefragen, laborchemische und apparative Basisuntersuchungen bis hin zu einem allgemeinen Therapieablauf und einer symptomatischen Stufentherapie. Die Leitlinie finden Sie hier:

https://register.awmf.org/de/leitlinien/detail/013-048

Hier können sich Betroffene als auch Dermatologen über die Diagnostizierung und Therapiemöglichkeiten des chronischen Pruritus informieren.

Vielen Dank Frau Prof. Sonja Ständer für die wertvollen Informationen und die Zeit, die Sie sich genommen haben und ein herzliches Dankeschön an alle Teilnehmer*innen für Ihr reges Interesse und Ihre Fragen.
Wir freuen uns auf den nächsten Vortrag am 06.02.2024 zum Thema „Entspannungstechniken und Achtsamkeit bei chronischem Pruritus: Was ist wichtig zu wissen?“ – Ihrer Haut zuliebe ❤️

Weitere Berichte
Haut und Sonnenschutz
Haut und Sonnenschutz
16.04.2024

I In unserem letzten Vortrag „Sonnenschutz und Haut“ zeigte Fra...

Auswirkung von chronischem Pruritus auf die Seele
Auswirkung von chronischem Pruritus auf die Seele
09.04.2024

Welche psychischen Folgen kann chronischer Pruritus auf die Seele h...

Tipps und Tricks bei chronischem Pruritus
Tipps und Tricks bei chronischem Pruritus
05.03.2024

Wie kann ich im Alltag mit chronischem Pruritus besser umgehen? Die...